Mementos for DMC, DIMC’s ex-faculty members

admin 03:24 PM, 11 Sep, 2015

By Our Staff Reporter

KARACHI - Professors and principals of Dow Medical College (DMC) and Dow International Medical College

(DIMC), as a part of series of programmes chalked out by Dow University of Health Sciences (DUHS) to honour its faculty members and retired principals and professors, organized a ceremony at the DMC’s Arag Auditorium.

Speaking on the occasion, Vice Chancellor of DUHS Prof Masood Hameed Khan acknowledged the efforts of faculty members in bringing a change in medical education of the country.

Paying rich tribute to his teachers, he exhorted students to give due respect to their teachers as they are the source of inspirations.

Highlighting the achievements of DUHS, he said that the university since its inception has produced 7,382 undergraduates and 1,190 postgraduate students in all specialties of medical and allied sciences.

He said that DUHS has always been endeavouring to provide maximum possible health services to the community, besides carrying out different research activities.

He also informed about various courses and diploma programmes introduced at the Dow University.

Curriculum Committee’s Chairman Prof Salahuddin Afsar informed the gathering that the DUHS with a view to meeting the international standard of medical education formed a curriculum committee for creating, overseeing and managing the medical students’ education programme and ensuring compliance with international standards.

He also presented documented curriculum to Prof Hameed Khan on the occasion.

Principal of Dow Medical College, Prof Junaid Ashraf, said that the DMC is one of the oldest and high class academic institutions of Pakistan.

Later, Prof Masood Hameed Khan along with Pro Vice Chancellor Prof M. Masoor and Prof Junaid Ashraf presented mementos to the retired principals of DMC and DIMC), including Prof Ali Muhammad Ansari, Prof Shamsuddin Rahim Toola, Prof Shareef Chaudhry, Prof Almani, Prof Illahi Bakhsh Soomro, Prof Tipu Sultan, Prof Salahuddin Afsar, Prof Zeenat Ayoob and Prof Shams Nadeem Alam and also to retired professors -- Prof Shafiq-ur-Rehman, Prof Iqbal A. Memon, Prof Inkisar Ali, Prof Zia Iqbal, Prof Abdullah et al.



Follow us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Sign up for Newsletter