National News

PMC setups New Medical And Dental Academic Board

ISLAMABAD: According to a recent notification, the Ministry of National Health Services (NHS) had constituted a 17-member National Medical and Dental Academic Board (NMDAB). The board would look into the standard of education being followed by the undergraduate/post-graduate medical and dental institutions across the country.

It is pertinent to mention here that President Dr Arif Alvi had earlier promulgated an ordinance dissolving the Pakistan Medical and Dental Council and establishing the PMC.

The notification stated, “In exercise of powers conferred by subsection (1) of section 10 of Pakistan Medical Commission (PMC) Act 2020, the Prime Minister of Pakistan is pleased to appoint the following members of National Medical and Dental Academic Board for a period of three years with immediate effect.”

  • Mr Tariq Banuri, Chairman Higher Education Commission or his nominee (Ex-Officio)
  • Prof. Zafar Ullah Chaudhry, President of College of Physicians and Surgeons of Pakistan (Ex-Officio)
  • Maj. Gen(R) Prof. Jawad Khaliq Ansari, Principal Army Medical College (Ex-Officio)
  • Prof. Aamer Zaman Khan, Vice-Chancellor, Fatimah Jinnah Medical University, Lahore (Punjab Public Nominee)
  • Prof. Dr Ghulam Rassol, Dean/Head of Psychiatry Department, Bolan University of Medical and Health Science, Quetta (Balochistan Public Nominee)
  • Dr Mahmud Aurangzeb, Dean, Khyber Medical College, Peshawar and CEO, Khyber Teaching Hospital & Khyber College of Dentistry, Peshawar (KPK Public Nominee)
  • Prof.Abdul Majeed Chaudhry, Principal, Lahore Medical and Denial College, Lahore (Punjab Private Nominee)
  • Prof. Muhammad Tariq Khan (FRCS), Chairman, Alliance Healthcare (Pvt)Ltd, Dean Neurosurgery, CPSP (KPK Private Nominee)
  • Prof.Tanvir Khaliq, Vice-Chancellor, Shaheed Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto Medical University, Islamabad (Federal Public Nominee)
  • Brig. Dr Tahir Aziz Ahmed SI (M) Retd, Shifa International Hospital & Medical College, Islamabad (Federal Private Nominee)
  • Prof. Amer Bilal, Professor and Head of Department of Thoracic Surgery, Postgraduate Medical, Institute, Lady Reading Hospital Peshawar (Clinical)
  • Dr Adil Hussain Haider, Dean Agha Khan University Medical College, Karachi (Clinical)
  • Dr Arif Tajammul, Principal, Allama Iqbal Medical College, Lahore (Clinical)
  • Prof. Dr Raafea Tafweez Kuraishi, Chairperson Doctoral Program Coordination Committee, King Edward Medical University, Lahore (Basic Sciences)
  • Prof. Naveen Mubarak Faridi, Liaquat National Hospital & Medical College, Karachi (Basic Sciences)
  • Prof. Ambreen Afzal Ehsan (Dental)
  • Dr Saqib Riaz Qazi (Dental)


-MN Report


November 17, 2020

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Medical News is the only periodical in Pakistan which has 3 simultaneous editions from Karachi, Islamabad and online.

Latest E-Paper
Like Us On Facebook
For Subscription